About Us

 As a local chapter of the Florida Native Plant Society, serving Charlotte County and the southern portion of Sarasota County, we achieve many of our goals through public outreach education, so our meetings, field trips and special events are open to all who wish to participate. Whether year-round or seasonal residents, our members share a passion for the state’s beauty, as exemplified by Florida’s native plants and diverse habitats, as well as the wildlife these plants and habitats support.

If you attend our meetings, you will hear educational presentations by local experts on a range of topics, such as rare species, native plant communities, protection needs, state and local conservation programs, and native plant landscaping.

Come along on our field trips and get to know your local plants and their communities and how our wildlife depends on them for food, shelter, and nesting. Attend our plant sales and acquire various landscape specimens without damaging their natural environments.

Come to our annual outreach event and learn how native plants in your landscape will save on water consumption, as well as reduce or eliminate the use of fertilizer and pesticides. You will learn how to plant the right plant in the right place and it will flourish without a great deal of care. If you are a seasonal resident, you will find that native plants better survive your absence in the summer months.

When you include Florida native plants in your landscape, you celebrate the unique natural beauty of the “Real Florida”. Please join our efforts and mission to preserve, conserve and restore these native plants and their communities and help us all to bring nature closer to home.

We offer grants up to $250 for beautification of public areas using native plants.  For specifics, see the grant application.

Board of Directors

Board Meetings: Our Board of Directors meets on the first Friday of each month, 2:30 PM, at Cedar Point Environmental Park, 2300 Placida Road, Englewood, Florida. All members are welcome to attend. The Board also meets throughout the summer months.


President: Lois Cantwell

Vice President:  Vacant

Secretary:  Marianne Owen

Treasurer:  Linda Wilson

Chapter Representative:  Steve Gustafson

Committee Chairs

Publicity: Ruth Ward

Newsletter: Gail Finney

Website: Barb Seibel / Dave Manley

Programs: Ruth Ward

Field Trips: Vacant

Membership: Linda Manley

Hospitality:  Marianne Owen

Historian: Dave Manley

Conservation/Education: Bobbi Rodgers

Chapter Garden: Gail Finney

Grants:  Jane Wallace

Facebook:  Anne Risberg / Dave Manley

Updated:  07.03.2020